Can ballast be added to an outdoor railway?

Bill Davidson

Hi there everybody,

I am new to this game and still at the planning stage of building a small garden railway. My question is can ballast be added to an outdoor railway and if so what would be the best method of affixing it to the track, as obviously anything used would have to be waterproof? My plan is to have a slightly elevated track with a base made from either marine ply or decking boards, any advice would be much appreciated.

Hi Bill,

In answer to your question, yes, there's a certain chap operating the Kirkfield and Warmthorpe Railway who's done just that and so I'll leave him to respond to your question and detail how he went about it.

As an aside, having used primarily decking boards in the construction of my layout with plywood being used on just one curved section, I have to say that the plywood has been the least troublesome of the two. It's difficult to keep the decking boards from warping ever so slightly, and at 4mm to the foot it can result in a major problem. If I were starting again I'd probably go down the plywood route.

Hello Bill

The Hampton Field Railway was ballasted in much the same way that indoor modellers ballast their track. Obviously, you need to use ballast that is mineral based / real stone and hasnt been coloured, so as to avoid any chance of fading. To fix the ballast all I did was mix an external grade pva with water and washing up liquid and drop it on - as I say, the normal technique used by indoor modellers and well documented elsewhere. Do it on a nice dry, warm day and it will set lovely. When it rains, any pva lumps that werent mixed in sufficiently may turn white, but hey, we dont run in the rain so its not a problem and most of all, the ballast wont move.