New member new railway

Hi All

I am going to build a modest garden railway in OO gauge . Possibly with two separate track circuits to accommodate dcc on the inner with sidings, fiddle yard ect. And the outer for oo live steam.

I envisage a track bed about a foot off the ground. Having never made an outside layout before I'm going to have to pester you guys for advice. Sorry (in advance) any tips or advice would be great

Many thanks

Dave

Hi Dave and warmest welcomes mate. I'm still relatively new to the hobby myself but you'll find help on here whichever obstacles you encounter. Someone will have solved any problem you're likely to have so don't be afraid to ask. Build your railway to suit yourself but most of all have fun. If I were doing my layout again I think I'd be tempted to go a little higher off the ground, say about 18 inches to 2 feet off the ground. We all look forward to seeing your railway progress mate. And remember you can never take TOO MANY pictures! :lol::lol: Regards. Mark

Hi Mark

Thanks for your kind welcome and encouraging words.

I have just won an auction for a Hornby live steam set. Best anti aging cure ever from 61 to a kid again in one fell swoop :D

Interesting comment re track bed height. Can you give me a heads up as to what is the optimum height and why. Sorry but I did warn you re pestering ;)

I'm gonna make a start at the weekend so brace yourselves for more questions guys.

I recon I'm going to enjoy this project.

Cheers

Dave

Hi Dave. The optimum height depends on your back, knees, and general fitness, if you get what I mean. Have a good read through members railways here, and make a plan of what you want. As Mark said, most problems have been overcome already, so try to identify them before you start.