Hello from Norfolk UK

SK1R1D

HI I'm Trevor, fro m a village just outside Norwich I have a wise interest in railways in generally an unfinished plastic OO railway in the garage hated by the Mrs. I have made A decision to expand into our small back garden using A large quantity of Marklin 'M' type track recently purchase as the track seems quite substantial. I have also 3 Marklin anologue locos and now looking for hints and tips before starting to build it and whether you can use plastic rolling stock IE Horby /Bachmann providing you change the couplings. I won't build the railway this summer as I am about to be Hospitalised for 4 weeks unless I can find local volunteers. Is this a practical project.

Hi Trevor. We're always pleased to welcome a new member so do make yourself at home amongst us.

I have no experience of Marklin track or rolling stock so I can't answer your question of compatibility with regards to couplings on Hornby & Bachmann stock. I'm sure someone else will be able to advise.

Sorry to hear about your planned hospitalisation - I do hope everything goes well for you and that you can soon begin making firm plans for your expansion into an outdoor railway. I'm not sure how successful a search for local volunteers would go - don't you have any railway minded friends that would perhaps be willing to lend a hand? The thing with an outdoor line is that they usually take some time to construct and get operational (well at least in my case they do!) We have to organise construction work around the weather which as you are no doubt well aware is very unpredictable in these parts and often not very good.

As for your question about "Is this a practical project". If you are referring to the planned layout then I would answer yes, of course it is. It's a whole heap of fun and something that's well worth doing.

Welcome from somewhat further out from Norwich, though I'm normally in on the Airport industrial estate by 06:30.